We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

Dec 6th, 2015

Byeong Hun An Wins Rookie of the year

First ever Korean winner

Byeong Hun An has become the first Korean winner of the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year Award. His breakthrough 2015 season also yielded another prestigious title as the Challenge Tour Graduate of the Year.

The 24 year old made a significant impact early in his maiden campaign in The Race to Dubai, sealing a first European Tour title at one of its most prestigious events, the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth Club in May.

An produced great golf throughout the week, but crucially on the final day when he carded a seven under par 65, to claim a six shot victory and break the record for the lowest winning score with a cumulative total of 21 under par 267.

In the process, the America-based Korean – more commonly known on Tour as Ben An – became only the second rookie in history to win the BMW PGA Championship. 

An, who in 2009 became the youngest winner of the US Amateur Championship at the age of 17, went on to produce an impressive finish to the 2015 campaign – claiming top four finishes in three of the four Final Series events.

That form earned him a seventh place finish in The 2015 Race to Dubai, five spots ahead of Englishman Matthew Fitzpatrick, who was also in the running to win the award given to the highest-ranked European Tour debutant not already in possession of membership on an International Golf Federation-recognised professional tour.

Here he is being interviewed by Valderrama before he went onto win the BMW.


TAGS: News, 2015, Byeong Hun An, Wentworth