We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

May 27th, 2017

Why Ernie Els called a two stoke penalty

On himself.....

Why Ernie Els called a two stoke penalty Here's why Ernie Els called a penalty on himself during the opening round of the BMW PGA Championship on Thursday.

Ernie posted a one–under–par 71 at Wentworth with three birdies and two bogeys – but it could have been so much better.

After chipping in for eagle at the par–5 12th from off the green, Els called a two–shot penalty on himself because he felt he had put his ball back in the wrong position from a plugged lie.

“I pulled my second shot a bit left and hit it into the bank of the bunker,” said Els. “I thought it was plugged, so I asked my guys (playing partners) if I could check it and they said yeah.

“I put it back and I hit my chip shot and I just felt uncomfortable by the way the ball came out. The ball came out way too good so I felt I didn’t quite probably put it exactly where I should have.

“Under the rules you try and put it back the way you think it should be, but I still felt uncomfortable with it, so we took a two–shot penalty. I know deep down the ball wasn’t quite where it should be and I wouldn’t be able to live with myself.”

You can’t say fairer than that Ernie!

Related:

Outrage as Brandon Grace defends controversial drop

Why Ernie Els called a two stoke penalty

 

TAGS: Ernie Els, Players, Tournaments, BMW PGA Championship