We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

May 6th, 2017

Dame Laura Davis and Trish Johnson

To debut at Farm Foods Par 3 Championship

The Farmfoods British Par 3 Championship has confirmed that Dame Laura Davies and Trish Johnson, will play at Nailcote Hall for the 84th edition of the event for the first time.

A winner of over 80 tournaments, including four majors in a glittering 32–year professional career, and with seven Ladies European Tour Order of Merit victories to her name, Dame Laura is rightly regarded as the greatest English woman golfer of all time.

Other career highlights include becoming the first female to enter the men’s European Tour in 2004, representing Europe 12 times in the Solheim Cup, before being made a Dame by the Queen in the 2014 UK honours list.

Dame Laura Davies said: “I’ve heard a lot about the British Par 3 event over the years, so I’m really looking forward to making my debut at Nailcote Hall and playing alongside some true greats.”

Trish has experienced success over the years too since turning pro in 1987, winning three events alone during her rookie season. This led to an incredible 20 total wins on the Ladies European Tour, winning the Order of Merit for the first time in 1990, before she went on to become the first European player to win back–to–back events on the LPGA in 1993.

Other career highlights include a win on the Legends LPGA Tour in August 2016, and appearing in eight Solheim Cups, second to only Dame Laura.

Taking place between 8-11 August 2017, the Professional Championship prize fund currently stands at €150,000, with €50,000 going to the winner.

The event traditionally draws some of the finest up-and-coming golfers in the country, as well as a host of European, Senior and Champions Tour stars, with 2016 winner Mark Mouland scoring an impressive -11 on his way to victory.

The 2017 edition of the Championship will be hosted for the tenth successive year by two–time Major winner and the most successful Ryder Cup captain of all time, Tony Jacklin CBE.

“I’ve had a long association with the Championship and it’s been a pleasure to see it grow in size and stature,” said Tony.


“I’m delighted to be hosting the event once again, it’s exciting to hear that Dame Laura Davies will be playing this year and I look forward to welcoming her to Nailcote Hall for a special Championship.”

There will be a qualifier on the 5 June at Nailcote Hall, with an entry fee of £99 giving participants a chance of winning one of the minimum five qualifying spots on offer. For more information, please visit:


Just some of the professionals who have taken part in the past include 2016 Masters champion Danny Willett, Ian Woosnam OBE, Paul Lawrie OBE, Sam Torrance OBE, Eddie Pepperell, 1993 Ryder Cup star Peter Baker and Andy Sullivan.

Spectators can register for free tickets via the British Par 3 website (britishpar3.com/booking/event-ticket/2017) and are more than welcome to attend any or all days of the Championship which is covered every year by Sky Sports.


Carly Booth has been bombing it at the American Golf Longdrive qualifiers 


TAGS: Tournaments, Latest, Players, 2017