We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

May 19th, 2024

Schauffele and Morikawa lead after R3

Feast of birdies on moving day

Xander Schauffele and Collin Morikawa are tied at the top of the Valhalla leaderboard ahead of the final round of the 2024 Championship. Schauffele, the overnight solo leader, was cruising until hitting a double bogey at 15, his only dropped shot of the afternoon. The world No. 3 bounced back brilliantly, making birdies at 17 and 18 to tie Morikawa entering the final round.

Sahith Theegala is one stroke back in second, having steadied his ship as the round progressed; +2 through eight holes before catching fire, firing his last 10 holes at -6.

Shane Lowry has forced himself into contention after matching Schauffele's 62 from Thursday's opening round, including reaching the turn in 29 strokes. Tied for 29th going into the round, a Sunday overhaul to win would tie the second-largest 36-hole comeback by position in men's major championship history. Only David Duval (T35 at the cut) in 2001's Open would be larger.

Bryson DeChambeau represents the best of the LIV Golf chances, tied with Lowry in a share of 4th, after a dramatic chip-in eagle at 18 for a 67and -13 overall. European Ryder Cup players Justin Rose and Robert MacIntyre sit at 12-under and LIV Golf's Dean Burmester at 11-under. Six more are tied at 10-under.

Defending champion Brooks Koepka carded a +3 74 and will start the final round 11 strokes off the lead.

Despite a closing birdie, Scottie Scheffler sank to -6 overall after recording a 73; the first time in 42 rounds that he has finished a round over par. Perhaps a delayed hangover of the hectic events that unfolded yesterday, along with the absence of his caddy Ted Scott and the week after the birth of his first child.

PGA Championship final round pairings: Sunday 19 May 2024

7:45am ET: Jeremy Wells (USA), Alejandro Tosti (Argentina)
7:55am ET: Sebastian Soderberg (Sweden), Brendon Todd (USA)
8:05am ET: Rasmus Hojgaard (Denmark), Jordan Smith (England)
8:15am ET: SH Kim (South Korea), Dustin Johnson (USA)
8:25am ET: Andrew Putnam (USA), Ryan Fox (NZ)
8:35am ET: Talor Gooch (USA), Stephan Jaeger (Germany)
8:45am ET: Adam Hadwin (Canada), Erik van Rooyen (South Africa)
8:55am ET: Gary Woodland (USA), Grayson Murray (USA)
9:05am ET: Patrick Cantlay (USA), Luke Donald (England)
9:15am ET: Tommy Fleetwood (England), Jesper Svensson (Sweden)
9:25am ET: Joaquín Niemann (Chile), Rickie Fowler (USA)
9:35am ET: Patrick Reed (USA), Cameron Young (USA)
9:45am ET: Braden Shattuck (USA), Byeong Hun An (South Korea)
10:05am ET: Brooks Koepka (USA), Nicolai Hojgaard (Denmark)
10:15am ET: Adam Svensson (Canada), Thorbjorn Olesen (Denmark)
10:25am ET: Alexander Björk (Sweden), Lucas Glover (USA)
10:35am ET: Tyrell Hatton (England), Corey Conners (Canada)
10:45am ET: Brian Harman (USA), Martin Kaymer (Germany)
10:55am ET: Brice Garnett (USA), Min Woo Lee (Australia)
11:05am ET: Kurt Kitayama (USA), Will Zalatoris (USA)
11:15am ET: Ben Kohles (USA), Cameron Smith (Australia)
11:25am ET: Doug Ghim (USA), Alex Noren (Sweden)
11:35am ET: Jason Day (Australia), Zac Blair (USA)
11:45am ET: Maverick McNealy (USA), Billy Horschel (USA)
12:05pm ET: Max Homa (USA), Tom Hoge (USA)
12:15pm ET: Scottie Scheffler (USA), Mark Hubbard (USA)
12:25pm ET: Aaron Rai (England), Matt Wallace (England)
12:35pm ET: Hideki Matsuyama (Japan), Ryo Hisatsune (Japan)
12:45pm ET: Rory McIlroy (N. Ireland), Tom Kim (South Korea)
12:55pm ET: Jordan Spieth (USA), Russell Henley (USA)
1:05pm ET: Keegan Bradley (USA), Taylor Moore (USA)
1:15pm ET: Thomas Detry (Belgium), Lucas Herbert (Australia)
1:25pm ET: Harris English (USA), Austin Eckroat (USA)
1:35pm ET: Justin Thomas (USA), Tony Finau (USA)
1:55pm ET: Dean Burmester (South Africa), Lee Hodges (USA)
2:05pm ET: Justin Rose (England), Robert MacIntyre (Scotland)
2:15pm ET: Bryson DeChambeau (USA), Viktor Hovland (Norway)
2:25pm ET: Sahith Theegala (USA), Shane Lowry (Rep. of Ireland)
2:35pm ET: Xander Schauffele (USA), Collin Morikawa (USA)

TAGS: PGA Championship, 2024, Xander Schauffele, Collin Morikawa, Valhalla