We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

Nov 19th, 2017

Tommy Fleetwood wins the Race to Dubai

As Justin Rose falters on his back nine

Tommy Fleetwood wins the Race to DubaiTommy Fleetwood has won the Race to Dubai and with it a cheque for $1.25 million, as Justin Rose faltered on his back nine.

Justin Rose had looked like he was going to claim both the DP World Tour Championship and the Race to Dubai, as he made the turn in 32, with four birdies and no dropped shots.

But then the wheels fell off, as he bogeyed on the 12th, 14th and 16th to leave the door open for Jon Rahm.

A birdie on the 18th was not enough to get Rose back into contention, and he was to finish T4 with Sergio Garcia, Dean Burmester, and Dylan Frittelli – one shot behind second placed Shane Lowry and Kiradech Aphibarnrat.


Jon Rahm’s 33 on the back nine took him to 19 under and to win his second Rolex Series title by one shot.


With Rose slipping back to T4, he also failed to overturn Fleetwood's 256,737-point advantage in the Race to Dubai Ranking. He needed to finish solo fifth or better to overturn Fleetwood, but finishing T4 with three other players was just not enough.

Fleetwood only signed for a 74 to finish in a tie for 21st, but it was enough to secure him the Race to Dubai title, and with that a cheque for a tasty $1.25 million, to end an amazing season, which included wins at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship and the HNA Open de France.

Two year fairway on the European Tour

Tommy Fleetwood wins the Race to Dubai

TAGS: Race to Dubai, Tommy Fleetwood, Justin Rose, Tournaments, Players