Feb 3rd, 2019
Sergio Garcia disqualified after 3rd round at Saudi International
For damaging greens
Sergio Garcia has sensationally been disqualified from the third round of the Saudi International on a charge of serious misconduct.
Sergio carded a one-over 71, which left him on level par, but was then told he was disqualified for damaging greens.
Garcia then released a statement saying that: "I respect the decision. In frustration I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise."
Garcia has become only the first ever player on the European Tour to be disqualified under Rule 1.2a, which states that "players are expected to play in the spirit of the game by acting with integrity, showing consideration to others and taking good care of the course".
The world number 27 landed in a bunker on the fourth hole and could be heard complaining about the way the bunker had been raked.
Garcia added: "I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again."
Sergio has plenty of form in the tantrum department, but this is really turning the dial in the wrong direction. Time to sort yourself out Sergio, you're breaking the wrong sort of records!
And whilst we're at it: