We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

Jan 9th, 2020

Ko takes Player of Year

No contest as GWAA vote for South Korean

World number one, Jin Young Ko was the runaway winner of the Golf Writers Association of America (“GWAA”) Female Player of the Year. The South Korean star was the overwhelming choice with Nelly Korda way back in second place.

'ave it!

This came as no surprise as Ko won four times in 2019 including two majors, the ANA Inspiration and Evian Championship and topped the money list. She has scooped all the major awards including the Vare Trophy which goes to the LPGA golfer with the lowest scoring average.

Ko’s scoring average was 69.052 which has only been previously bettered on tour by one Annika Sorenstam’s whose record of 68.697 in 2002 still stands.

"It is a great honor to win this prestigious award,” said Ko. “To be recognized by golf writers, who cover our sport of golf all year long, makes it even more special. I'm really proud and excited to be named alongside all the other recipients of this award in the past."

The even more amazing facts are that this was only Ko’s  second season on the LPGA Tour and during the season she had a run of 114 holes without a bogey, beating Tiger Woods’ record by 4 holes.

Congratulations to Jin Young on an incredible year!

The GWAA male Player of the Year was Brooks Koepka with Scott McCarron senior Player of the Year.


And another thing...

Brooks Koepka Player of the Year

TAGS: GWAA Player Of The Year, Jin Young Ko, LPGA Tour, Brooks Koepka, News, 2020