We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

Aug 19th, 2020

R&A announces future venues for AIG Women's Open

World-class venues throughto 2025

The R&A has underlined its commitment to enhancing the AIG Women’s Open’s status as a leading major sporting event by announcing five world-class venues for championships being played from 2021 to 2025.

The future championship venues for the AIG Women’s Open are:
2021 – Carnoustie
2022 – Muirfield
2023 – Walton Heath
2024 – St Andrews
2025 – Royal Porthcawl
Martin Slumbers, Chief Executive of The R&A, said, “With our partners at AIG, we have a real ambition to grow and elevate the AIG Women's Open for the benefit of the world's leading golfers and so we are excited to confirm our intention to play the next five championships at these renowned courses.
“It has truly been a collaborative effort from all the venues involved to make this schedule possible and the flexibility that they have shown in adjusting their own calendars has been vital in allowing us to confirm our plans for the championship through to 2025.
“We are grateful for their support, particularly during a time when golf has been impacted by the on-going pandemic, and we look forward to working with these venues to deliver an outstanding experience to be enjoyed by everyone involved in the AIG Women’s Open.”   
Peter Zaffino, President and Global Chief Operating Officer, AIG, commented, “AIG is pleased to partner with The R&A to increase visibility and engagement in women’s professional golf by enhancing the global stature of the AIG Women’s Open. We proudly welcome the involvement of these venerable courses, which will be fitting hosts for these accomplished golfers as they compete at the highest level.”
Muirfield, Walton Heath and Royal Porthcawl will be hosting the women’s major championship for the first time.
Muirfield has a prestigious history of hosting major championships, having held The Open on 16 occasions. It also hosted The Curtis Cup in 1952 and 1984 as well as the Vagliano Trophy in 1963 and 1975.
Walton Heath has been a venue for the Ryder Cup, the Senior Open presented by Rolex and the British Masters.
Royal Porthcawl has held The Amateur Championship on seven occasions and was the venue for the Walker Cup in 1995 when Great Britain and Ireland defeated a United States of America team featuring Tiger Woods. It has also hosted the Senior Open presented by Rolex, the Curtis Cup and the British Masters. 
The Old Course at St Andrews will stage the championship for the third time after Lorena Ochoa and Stacy Lewis won the title over the world-famous links in 2007 and 2013. The AIG Women’s Open will return to Carnoustie for the first time since 2011 when Yani Tseng successfully defended her title.
The AIG Women’s Open will take place from 16 to 22 August 2021 at Carnoustie with tickets now on sale via aigwomensopen.com. 
Adult tickets will start from £20 with children aged 16 years or under before the Championship admitted free of charge. Spectators aged 24 years or under will be entitled to purchase youth (16-24 years) tickets. A £5 Mastercard discount is available per transaction.
All future championship dates will be announced in due course.
For more ticket and championship information please visit aigwomensopen.com.

TAGS: Ladies European Tour, Walton Heath, Muirfield, Royal Porthcawl, Carnoustie, AIG Women's Open, R&A, 2020