We use our own and third-party cookies to deliver content to you throughout your experience online. It is possible that some cookies may continue to collect information after you've left our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies. Learn more here.

Ok, Got it!

Sep 8th, 2017

Walker Cup pictures through the ages

Featuring Jack, Rickie, Rory and many many more

The first ever Walker Cup was held in 1922 at the National Golf Links in New York. The USA won 8 points to 4. The National has never hosted a major men's championship (possibly due to the fact that it's known as 'America's snootiest golf club'), but in 2013 the Walker Cup did return to its original home.

Anyway, we take a pictorial voyage through this most marvelous tournament which has born so many golfing legends...

1923: Members of the British Walker Cup team at St Andrews. The event was won 6.5 to 5.5 by USA in the first match where half points were recorded.



1930: Bobby Jones (right) walks down the fairway with R W Hartley at St Georges. USA won 10-2.



1938: The British non-playing captain John Beck, and the American non-playing captain, Francis Ouimet at St Andrews. GB & Ireland won 7.5 to 4.5.


1971: GB's David Marsh at St Andrews.



1971: GB & Ireland celebrate a first victory since 1938: (back, left to right) Humphreys, Foster, Bonallack (captain), Marsh, Green, Stuart and Carr, (front) Marks, MacDonald and MacGregor. USA were slain 13 points to 11 at St Andrews.


1983: USA team. Brad Faxon back row. USA won 13.5 to 11.5 at Hoylake. But the matches are getting closer...



1987: Monty models for Sports casual Man About Town magazine at Sunningdale. USA won 16.5 to 7.5... As Monty would not say... fantastic, superb...



1989: Peter McEvoy and players go berserk after they dramatic 12.5 to 11.5 win at Peach Tree GC in Atlanta.



1991: How many of this illustrious GB & Ireland team can you name? Despite a lot of them being famous now, they lost 14 to 10 at Portmarnock.



1993: Justin Leonard at Interlachen GC Minnesota. USA won 19 points to, errm... 5....



1995: This chap will never amount to anything... Tiger Woods at Royal Porthcawl. GB & Ireland won 14 points to 10.



1999: The Golden Generation: GB & Ireland, including Paul Casey, Luke Donald, Graeme Storm, Gary Wolstenholme and Simon Dyson, beat USA (featuring Matt Kuchar) 15-9 at Nairn GC, Scotland



2001: GB & Ireland team victorious by 15 points to 9 at Ocean Forest GC in Georgia. Featuring Nick Dougherty, Luke Donald, Jamie Elson, Marc Warren, Graeme McDowell and Michael Hoey.



2001: The singles scorecard.



2005: Anthony Kim and Brian Harman celebrate USA's last gasp 12.5 to 11.5 win at the Chicago Golf Club.



2007: The Great Britain and Ireland team (front row, left to right) John Parry, Llewellyn Matthews, Colin Dalgleish (capt), Nigel Edwards, David Horsey, (back row, left to right) Rory McIlroy, Jamie Moul, Rhys Davies, Lloyd Saltman, Daniel Willett, Jonathan Caldwell after the flag raising ceremony for the 2007 Walker Cup Match held on the links of the Royal County Down Golf Club, on September 7, 2007. USA won 12.5 to 11.5 at Royal County Down.



2007: The formidables. USA's winning team: (front row, left to right) Colt Knost, Billy Horschel, Buddy Marucci (captain), Trip Kuehne, Rickie Fowler, (back row, left to right) Kyle Stanley, Jonathan Moore, Chris Kirk, Jamie Lovemark, Dustin Johnson, Webb Simpson



2007: Never to be seen again... or maybe....



2009: A young Tommy Fleetwood with the GB and Ireland Walker Cup Team who are also joined by former Walker Cup player Nick Dougherty of England at Sunningdale. 



2009: Rickie Fowler's love affair with the Walker Cup continues at Merrion...




2011: Royal Aberdeen GC. USA v GB & Ireland. Jordan Spieth and Andy Sullivan star as GB & Ireland win 14-12



2011: Anyone fancy a pint?...



2013: Justin Thomas enjoying himself as USA win 17-9 at National Golf Links, New York.



2015: Bryson DeChambeau at Royal Lytham



2015: That winning feeling: GB & Ireland celebrate their 16.5 to 9.5 win at Lytham

TAGS: Walker Cup, Players, Rickie Fowler, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, 2017 Walker Cup, 2017