Jul 19th, 2018
R&A Confirm Phil is OUT if he repeats US Open fiasco
Words: Conor Froud
The R&A have released a disguised message warning Phil Mickelson against repeating his antics from Shinnecock Hills where he hit his ball in the hole whilst it was still moving, potentially rolling off the green.
US Open officials hit Mickelson with a two shot penalty, however many experts reckoned the much loved American should have been disqualified for a serious breach of etiquette. Now heading into the Open the R&A have set out the law to ensure we don't see a repeat at Carnoustie.
"We understand the USGA and the referees' decisions that were made at Shinnecock, and we completely respect those decisions," Martin Slumbers, the R&A chief executive, said.
"But we have looked very carefully at the rules and I don't think it was good for the game and not the right way to have played this wonderful sport. We would make a decision based on the facts of any incident that happened later in the week.
"There are other parts of the rule book which refer to etiquette and the powers of the committee, and we're fully aware of those clauses that are in that rule."
Here at Golf Punk we're hoping Phil has learnt from his mistakes and fall out with the media (as you'd expect), but the R&A have ensured that either way, the rules will be upheld.